top of page


The Kalyanaraman family hosted a splendid affair as part of the Navratri festivities at their residence in Thrissur, Kerala this week. The Navratri Pooja which is an annual affair at the Kalyanaraman residence was attended by none other than the global brand ambassador of Kalyan Jewellers and Bollywood’s very own Shahenshah Mr. Amitabh Bachchan. The glamorous evening was not only attended by friends and family but the who’s who of the movie fraternity in South India. The Navratri Pooja festivities witnessed invitees coming from all parts of India to offer their prayer before the Bommai Kolu.

During Navratri, Kalyanaraman family practice the tradition keeping of ‘Bommai kolu’ at their abode. As part of this tradition, the idols of the Gods and Goddesses from the Hindu mythology are kept on odd numbered steps. Usually, it is the children of the house who are encouraged to take the lead here, and this in turn helps them better understand mythology and the many narratives. The order in which the Bommai or the dolls are kept also has its own significance. It is symbolic of the growth of human life from a materialistic level to the elevated spiritual. At the very bottom of the steps the ordinary scenes of village life, temples, towns and it elevates to the most powerful forms of Gods towards the higher steps. Navratri and Bommai Kolu also serve as a platform for art and culture. The star studded evening ended with a singing and dancing session thereby making worship through music and art an integral part of the celebration.

The private evening was attended by celebrities like Vijay Sethupathy, Nivin Pauly, Tovino Thomas, Neeraj Madhav, Regina Cassandra, Samyukta Menon, Antony Perumbavoor and Vijay Babu. To add to this, Kalyan Jewellers’ regional brand Ambassadors Prabhu Ganesan (Tamil Nadu), Shivraj Kumar (Karnataka), Kinjal Rajpriya (Gujarat), Pooja Sawant (Maharashtra) and Ritabhari Chakraborty (West Bengal) graced the evening with their presence. The invitees also included politicians Central Minister V Muraleedharan and Minister Shri Sunil Kumar, Minister Shri AC Moideen, Minister C Raveendranath and Shri MP Veerendra Kumar.


bottom of page